Page 4 - 8th Issue

This is a SEO version of 8th Issue. Click here to view full version

« Previous Page Table of Contents Next Page »
Monday, April 25, 2011
The Talon 4
‘The Woods’ offcially Tree Campus USA
WWU students excel
at DECA conference
Kelcie and Bill Spradley complete the tree planting, while Nick Kuhn, John Tuttle,
Sharon Mather, Gayle Lampe, Josh Stevens and Chris Spradley look on.
Eight William Woods
University students placed in
the top 10 in their respective
categories, competing with more
than 1,400 other college students
at the DECA International
Conference in Orlando, Fla.,
April 12-17.
The students are:
• Greg Baker, Gentry Coffman and
Brad Whitcomb–Advertising
• Nikki Cole–Sales
• Danielle Costanza and Liz
• Melissa Smith-Entrepreneurship
• Amber Vieth - Website Design
WWU had five teams qualify
for final competition, doing better
than four of the five college teams
from Missouri. The University
of Central Missouri qualified six
teams, the University of Missouri
qualified four teams, Columbia
College qualified two teams and
Lincoln University and Southeast
Missouri State University
qualified one team each.
DECA is an international
organization for college students
preparing for a variety of careers.
WWU College DECA programs
engage students from a variety
of educational disciplines, while
maintaining a strong focus on
business-related areas such as
marketing, management
and entrepreneurship.
Activities promoted by DECA
integrate with and enhance the
student’s college curriculum.
The WWU students qualified
for the international competition
by their success in the Collegiate
DECA State Career Development
Conference Feb. 17-18. Linda
Duke, instructor of marketing and
business, is the DECA sponsor
at WWU.
William Woods University—
long known to students and
alumni as “The Woods” because
of its beautiful, tree-covered
campus—added another tree to
its forest in honor of Arbor Day
and WWU’s designation as a Tree
Campus USA.
April 16, during Alumni
Weekend, representatives of
the Missouri Department of
Conservation presented a Tree
Campus USA plaque and banner
to President Jahnae H. Barnett.
This is the first year a college
or university in Missouri has
received this designation.
A Wildfire Black Gum tree,
which will eventually grow to
30-50 feet, was planted outside
Tucker Dining Hall. The tree was
donated by a parent and certified
arborist, Bill Spradley of Trees,
Forests and Landscapes Inc. in
Kirkwood, Mo.
Representing Missouri
Department of Conservation
(MDC) at the ceremony were
John Tuttle, unit chief for forestry
division; Nick Kuhn, urban
forestry coordinator for the state,
and Josh Stevens, Callaway
County forester.
Two William Woods University students
won awards at the Missouri Academy of
Science’s 47th annual meeting April 15-16 at
Lincoln University.
Rachel Weber won first place in one of the
two Biological Sciences oral presentation
divisions, and Lucas Watson won second place
in the biology poster presentation sections.
They were accompanied by Dr. Mary Spratt, Cox
Distinguished Professor of Science.
Presently, 49 colleges and universities
around Missouri hold an institutional
membership status. Many industries and other
private businesses support the academy with
corporate memberships.
Students win awards at Missouri
Academy of Science meeting
The Tree Campus USA program,
established in 2008, is designed
to award national recognition to
college campuses for promoting
healthy forest management and
engaging the campus community
in environmental stewardship.
“We are pleased that William
Woods has achieved this honor,”
Barnett said. “This is truly
an appropriate designation,
considering the school’s nickname
and the abundance and variety of
trees on our campus.”
The Tree Campus USA program
is an initiative that sprang from
a partnership between the Arbor
Day Foundation and Toyota Motor
North America, Inc. to foster
the development of the next
generation of tree stewards.
“Trees are a vital component
of the infrastructure in
campus landscaping, providing
environmental and economical
benefits,” John Rosenow, chief
executive of the Arbor Day
Foundation, said in his letter to
William Woods.
“Properly placed trees create
a welcoming environment that
makes students, administration
and alumni want to be a part of
the campus.”
To be eligible for Tree Campus
USA recognition, schools must
meet five core standards of tree
care and community engagement:
• Establish a campus tree
advisory committee
• Evidence of a campus
tree-care plan
• Verification of dedicated
expenditures on the campus tree-
care plan
• Involvement in an Arbor
Day observance
• A service-learning project
aimed at engaging the student
body in sustainable efforts
William Woods University
began working toward Tree
Campus USA designation in 2009
when Spradley arranged for the
donation and planting of more
than 50 trees to aid in campus
Biodiversity and reforestation
efforts included the 12th Street
entrance to campus, replacing
trees damaged by ice storms,
planting trees native to Missouri,
improving the natural look of the
campus lake areas and providing
color and wildlife habitat during
different seasons.
Also, a Campus Tree Advisory
Committee was formed. The
committee is responsible for
making recommendations to
replace, remove or plant new
trees on campus. The committee
collaborates with a student
organization, Knowing the Woods
Club, founded by Spradley’s
daughter, Kelcie, to educate
campus members and to plan and
facilitate Arbor Day celebrations.
In addition to Bill and Kelcie
Spradley, the Campus Tree
Advisory Committee is composed
of Scott Miniea, associate vice
president; Mary Ann Beahon,
university relations director;
Sharon Mather, advisor to
Knowing the Woods Club;
Mike Dillon, physical plant
director; Mary Spratt, biology
professor; Ann Koenig, urban
forester, Missouri Department of
Conservation, Central Missouri
Region, and Paul Johnson,
forester, Missouri Department of
Conservation, Callaway County.
John Tuttle, unit chief for forestry division of the Missouri Department of
Conservation, presents a Tree Campus USA plaque to WWU President Jahnae H.